Who is IPS Sanjay Arora? Facts of Delhi’s New Police Commissioner

IPS Sanjay Arora
IPS Sanjay Arora

IPS Sanjay Arora: The Central Government on Sunday appointed Indian Police Service (IPS) Officer Sanjay Arora as the new Police Commissioner of Delhi. He will replace Rakesh Asthana.

A 1998-batch IPS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre, Mr Arora will step down from his current post of Director General of Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) to join on August 1. He can serve till his retirement on July 31, 2025, or until further orders as per the order of the Union Home Ministry.

According to news agency PTI, Mr Arora is only the third officer from outside the AGMUT (Arunachal Pradesh-Goa-Mizoram and Union Territory) cadre to be made the head of the national capital’s police force. Prior to him, Mr. Asthana (from Gujarat cadre) and Ajay Raj Sharma (from UP cadre) were in this position.

Mr. Arora holds a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur.

The 57-year-old was part of the Tamil Nadu Police’s Special Task Force, which later hunted down dacoit Veerappan. For this he was awarded the CM Gallantry Medal.

Mr Arora had also served in the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) and the Border Security Force (BSF). As per an official order, his inter-cadre deputation has been approved by the Police Department of the Union Home Ministry, PTI further said.


Sanjay Arora holds a bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from the Malviya National Institute of Technology, Rajasthan.

After joining the IPS, he served in various positions in the Tamil Nadu Police. He was the Superintendent of Police (SP) of the Special Task Force, where he achieved significant success against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded the Chief Minister’s Gallantry Medal for gallantry and gallant action.

He served as the Commissioner of Police, Coimbatore City from 2002 to 2004. He has also served as Deputy Inspector General of Police, Villupuram Range and Deputy Director of Vigilance and Anti-Corruption.

Delhi’s New Police Commissioner

He has headed the Chennai City Police as Additional Commissioner Crime and Headquarters and Additional Commissioner Traffic. On promotion, he was posted as ADGP (Operations) and ADGP (Administration) in Tamil Nadu Police.

He also served in Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002. He guarded a frontier of the ITBP Battalion at Matli, Uttarakhand from 1997 to 2000.

He also served as Inspector General (Special Operations) BSF, IG Chhattisgarh Sector CRPF and IG Operation CRPF. He has served as ADG Headquarters and Operations CRPF and Special DG J&K Zone CRPF before being appointed as Director General of ITBP.

He took over as the 31st Army Chief on August 31, 2021 as DG ITBP.

He was awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, the President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, the Police Special Duty Medal, the Internal Security Medal and the United Nations Peace Medal, among others.

India At Commonwealth Games 2022: Saikhom Mirabai Chanu Wins Gold Medal

Top 5 Players Who Failed to Translate IPL Success in International Cricket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here