Virat Kohli returns to India’s T20I squad for the Asia Cup

Who Plays at No. 3
Who Plays at No. 3

Virat Kohli has been selected in India’s T20I squad for the Asia Cup, returning after a break of more than a month following the conclusion of the England tour on July 17. Jasprit Bumrah, however, was not part of the squad named late on Monday night, and according to PTI the fast bowler has a back injury. Harshal Patel was also not available for selection due to a rib injury. Virat Kohli Returns in team India.

Read More: India Squad For Asia Cup 2022 Announced; KL Rahul Returns As The Vice-Captain

“Virat Kohli Might Be Dropped for The Asia Cup”

Virat Kohli selected in Asia Cup 2022

KL Rahul returned as vice-captain in May after missing all India matches since the end of IPL 2022. Rahul first suffered a groin injury, then underwent surgery for a sports hernia, after which he tested positive for Covid-19 and was ruled out of the Caribbean tour.

Bumrah did not travel to the West Indies after the tour of England and was also rested from the upcoming ODI series in Zimbabwe. He is understood to have developed a back cramp last week and went to the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru, where he was diagnosed with swallowing.

Asia Cup Schedule, Date, Teams, Host, Timings and Venues

Kohli was also rested from the recent ODI and T20I series in the Caribbean, and will also miss the ODIs in Zimbabwe.

Kohli has played only four T20 Internationals – and has missed 19 – since the T20 World Cup ended in November last year, scoring 81 runs at an average of 20 and a strike rate of 128.57. His form was a concern for Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL 2022 – 341 runs, average 22.73 and strike rate 116 – and he scored only 1 and 11 in his most recent T20Is in England.

Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan and Deepak Hooda have retained their places in India’s T20 squad for the Asia Cup. Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar were named as stand-by players, while Ishan Kishan, Kuldeep Yadav and Sanju Samson – all of whom were part of the recent five-T20I series in West Indies – were named in the 15-man squad. .

The Asia Cup is India’s third last T20I assignment ahead of home series against Australia and South Africa before the start of the T20 World Cup in Australia this October.

India are the defending champions of the Asia Cup, which was last played in the ODI format in 2018. He won the title by defeating Bangladesh in a thrilling last-ball match in Dubai.

10 Greatest Moments in India Vs Pakistan Cricket Matches

This year’s Asia Cup will be played in the T20 format and India will start their campaign against Pakistan on August 28; this is the first match between the two sides since they met in the T20 World Cup last year.

India, Pakistan and the team that won the qualifying tournament are in Group A, while Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are in Group B. All matches will begin at 6 pm local time (7.30 pm), with ten games and three matches in Dubai. Sharjah.

The qualifying round to determine the sixth team in the competition will begin on 20 August in Oman. The teams competing with India and Pakistan for a place in Group A are UAE, Kuwait, Singapore and Hong Kong.

In the main draw, each team will play the other two in their group once, and the top two teams from each group will advance to the Super 4 round starting on 3 September. The teams from the Super 4 round will play each other once, with the top two teams qualifying for the final on 11 September.

This edition of the Asia Cup was scheduled to be held in Sri Lanka but was shifted to the UAE last month due to the ongoing economic crisis in the island nation. SLC will continue to be the official host of the tournament, although it is being played in the UAE. Virat Kohli Returns in Indian team.