Rishi Sunak, Runner-Up To Frontrunner, May Become UK PM Today

    UK PM Rishi Sunak: Despite Boris Johnson’s surprise decision to end his bid, Rishi Sunak is set to be the next prime minister, with Penny Mordant far from securing the number of votes needed to replace Liz Truss.

    On Sunday, Sunak made a fresh run for the Tory leadership after losing to Liz Truss in the summer leadership contest. He has the support of 142 members of parliament, far more than the 100 points required.

    In a brief statement confirming his candidacy, the former Indian-origin chancellor said he wished to fix his economy, unite his party and work for his country.

    In a surprise move, Boris Johnson, who cut off vacation in the Caribbean to try and secure the support of 100 lawmakers to enter Monday’s contest, dropped out of the Conservative Party leadership race on Sunday, saying he would not be able to lead “a united party in parliament”.

    While he could have been “back in Downing Street”, 58-year-old Johnson failed to persuade Mr Sunak or Penny Mordant to work together “in the national interest”.

    Mr Johnson, 58, said late Sunday that he felt it wasn’t the right time to run.

    The day after the announcement, Mr Sunak tweeted a tweet praising the leadership of his former boss for guiding the country through some of the toughest challenges, including Brexit, the COVID vaccine rollout, and the war in Ukraine.

    Even though he has decided not to run for prime minister again, I hope he will continue to contribute to public life at home and abroad.

    As a result of Mr Johnson’s exit, Penny Mordant is the only challenger for Rishi Sunak, but she only has 29 legislative supporters.

    Rishi Sunak will automatically become prime minister if Ms Mordaunt fails to secure 100 MP votes by 2 pm local time.

    Mr. Sunak is better known in India through his wife Akshata Murthy, the daughter of billionaire co-founder of Infosys, Narayana Murthy.

    Click to Know: Top 10 Upcoming Indian Cricket Superstars

    Click to Know: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money

    Click to Know: T20 World Cup Next | T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule

    Click to Know: The 6IXTY 2022: Full Squads, Schedule, Match Timings and Live Streaming Details

    Click to Know: PKL Season 9: Pro Kabaddi League Season 9 Schedule | Full Fixtures | Venue | Timings                           

    Click to Know: Ambani Book Ambani Book Betting Ambani Book Betting Exchange

    Click to Know: Satta Matka: What is Satta Matka?

    Click to Know: Online betting sites in India

    Click to Know: Shaheen Afridi Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Wife, Age, Biography

    Click to Know: Babar Azam Cricket Career: Babar Achieves Another High, Now Only Player To Be In Top-Three Across Formats

    Click to Know: Top 10 Greatest Female Batsmen of All Time 

    Click to Know more: Mohammad Rizwan Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Biography, Wife, Age, Height, House, Cars 

    Click to Know: 3 Card Judgement Casino Online Live Betting And How To Play (Rules)

    Click to Know More: IND vs PAK, T20 World Cup 2022, LIVE Updates: India Won! | Vintage Virat Kohli Knock Helps India Edge Pakistan In Thriller