No Muslim MLA in Rampur for First Time Since Independence. Why BJP’s Win is a Watershed Moment in UP


The first BJP victory in Rampur Assembly seat since Independence on Thursday further strengthened Brand Yogi’s dominance in Uttar Pradesh, making it the second-largest bastion of the saffron party after Gujarat. Over 50% of the population of Rampur is Muslim.

Send Your WhatsApp Number to Get Breaking News!

Earlier this year, the BJP won bypolls in Samajwadi Party strongholds Azamgarh and Rampur. In the last two decades, Azam Khan and his family have won the Rampur Assembly seat for the Samajwadi Party, never winning since Independence.

Since independence, there has always been a Muslim MLA in the seat. In the Rampur Assembly seat, BJP’s Akash Saxena has won with a whopping 62% vote share, indicating that some Muslim voters also voted for him.

In March, Azam Khan won the Assembly election in Rampur with nearly 60% of the votes, defeating Akash Saxena. After his conviction in a case that prompted this byelection, Khan was disqualified. In the 20 elections held on Rampur Assembly seat, Azam Khan and his family won the seat 11 times.

Azam Khan was Rampur’s MLA from 1980 to 1995 and 2002 to 2022. A close confidante of Azam Khan was given the ticket this time.

BJP’s winning candidate Akash Saxena is the son of former minister Shiv Bahadur Saxena, who said Muslims were never respected in Rampur under Azam Khan. “Muslims were always subjugated here, and their love was interpreted as slavery. In this election, Muslims have broken the bonds of slavery to support me,” Saxena said.

In the 2017 Assembly elections, Shiv Bahadur Saxena lost to Azam Khan in Rampur. In March of this year, Akash had also lost to Azam Khan. Now, the Saxena family has gotten sweet revenge on Khan.

However, the BJP lost the Khatauli Assembly bypoll and the Lok Sabha bypoll in Manipuri, with the former won by the RLD and the latter by Dimple Yadav.

Due to the fact that the new BJP state president, Bhupendra Choudhary, comes from the Khatauli region in west UP, this is a setback for the BJP. In its stronghold of Manipuri, the Samajwadi Party swam on the sympathy wave after Mulayam Singh Yadav’s death.

Most Dangerous team in T20 2022: Most dangerous team in ICC t20 world cup

Rizwan Net Worth: Mohammad Rizwan Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Biography, Wife, Age, Height, House, Cars 

T10 League Schedule: T10 League 2022 Schedule | Abu Dhabi T10 League Schedule in PDF Download

Fastest 1K Runs in T20I: Fastest 1000 Runs in T20

Cricket Stars: Top 10 Upcoming Indian Cricket Superstars

Pro Kabaddi League: PKL Season 9: Pro Kabaddi League Season 9 Schedule | Full Fixtures | Venue | Timings                           

Ambani Book Betting: Ambani Book Ambani Book Betting Ambani Book Betting Exchange

Satta King: Satta Matka: What is Satta Matka?

Online Betting Site: Online betting sites in India

Shaheen Afridi Net Worth: Shaheen Afridi Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Wife, Age, Biography

Babar Azam Net Worth: Babar Azam Cricket Career: Babar Achieves Another High, Now Only Player To Be In Top-Three Across Formats

Greatest  Female Cricketers: Top 10 Greatest Female Batsmen of All Time 

AB Exchange: AB Exchange | Abexch9 | Abexch Sports Book Maker

3 Card Judgement: 3 Card Judgement Casino Online Live Betting And How To Play (Rules)