T20 World Cup: Namibia Upset Sri Lanka With 55-Run Win In Opening Game | Namibia beat Sri Lanka With 55-Run

Namibia beat Sri Lanka With 55-Run
Namibia beat Sri Lanka With 55-Run

Namibia beat Sri Lanka With 55-Run: T20 World Cup 2022, Sri Lanka vs Namibia, Score Updates: Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and opted to bowl against Namibia in the opening match of the T20 World Cup in Geelong on Sunday.

The Asia Cup champions were hit by an injury to left-arm quick bowler Dilshan Madushanka and brought in Dushmantha Chameera and Pramod Madushan. On the other hand, Namibia skipper Gerhard Erasmus said he would have also…

During the powerplay, Ben Shikongo took two wickets in two balls, while David Wiese and Jan Frylinck also made significant contributions.

Ultimately, the match was not even close. Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Dasun Shanaka mustered the best of their innings, 34, as Sri Lanka failed to get a partnership going with the chase of 164. On a slow Geelong surface that rewards pace off the ball, Namibia’s bowlers kept mixing up their pace. It was a constant struggle for Sri Lanka’s batters to stay in the game. At the end of the 19th over, they were all out for 108.

Meanwhile, Namibia pulled off perhaps the biggest upset in their history. The last time they made it into the main draw of the T20 World Cup, they beat Full Member Ireland. As a result, they’ve defeated the newly-crowned Asia Cup champions, and a team that had won five consecutive T20Is.

Sri Lanka vs Namibia Today Match Dream 11 Team
Namibia: Stephan Baard, David Wiese, Gerhard Erasmus(c), Jan Nicol Loftie-Eaton, JJ Smit, Jan Frylinck, Zane Green(w), Divan la Cock, Michael van Lingen, Bernard Scholtz, Ben Shikongo

Sri Lanka: Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Pramod Madushanka, Maheesh Theekshana