India Squad For Asia Cup 2022 Announced; KL Rahul Returns As The Vice-Captain

India squad for Asia Cup 2022
India squad for Asia Cup 2022

India squad for Asia Cup 2022: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the Indian squad for the Asia Cup 2022. Rohit Sharma will lead Team India in the mega event starting in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on 27th August this year. The final of the Asia Cup 2022 will be played on September 11 in Dubai.

India Squad Asia Cup 2022

India’s campaign in this year’s tournament will begin on August 28 with a heavyweight clash against arch-rivals Pakistan. The Men in Blue are looking to avenge the loss in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 and stamp their authority with regard to preparation. ICC T20 World Cup 2022 which will be played in Australia later this year.

BCCI announces Indian team for Asia Cup 2022

The BCCI on Monday announced the Indian team for this year’s Asia Cup. Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the team due to a back injury. KL Rahul will be the vice-captain of the Indian cricket team in the Asia Cup 2022. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik are the two wicketkeepers in the team.

Men in Blue Squad for Asia Cup 2022

India squad for Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin , Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Backup: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.

Team India will start campaign from August 28

The Men in Blue will begin their Asia Cup campaign with a high-octane clash against Pakistan. He will next play the qualifying team on August 31. The 5 teams that have been finalized for the tournament are India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. The sixth team will be decided through qualifiers. Kuwait, UAE, Hong Kong and Singapore will play in the qualifiers.

KL Rahul Returns As The Vice-Captain for Asia Cup

The Super4 leg of the tournament will begin on September 3 and the final will be played in Dubai on September 11. This year’s Asia Cup is being played in the 20-over format and two venues Dubai and Sharjah have been finalized to host the tournament. The Men in Blue have won the most (7) titles in the history of the tournament. Sri Lanka are the second most successful team in the history of the competition with only 5 titles.