Flag of India (tricolor)

Flag of India (tricolor)
Flag of India (tricolor)

Flag of India (tricolor): The Indian National Flag is a square flag with deep saffron, white, and green colors and a navy blue 24-spoke wheel (the Ashoka Chakra) in the middle. On August 15, 1947, it was made the Indian flag. Let’s look at how it was made, where it came from, and what the different colors mean.

National Flag of India

Title: Tricolor / Tiranga

Colors: Saffron, White and Green; Navy Blue in the Askoka Chakra

Dimension ratio: 2:3

Material: Khadi Cotton or Silk

Adopted on: July 22, 1947

Designed by: Pingali Venkayya

Manufactured by: Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission

Mahatma Gandhi once said, “Every country needs a flag.” It has cost the lives of millions. It is definitely a form of idolatry, and it would be wrong to get rid of it. Because a flag stands for an ideal. The national flag is the banner that gives a country its own unique identity. Tells the world that the country is in charge, and shows what the country’s values are.

The Indian flag is made up of three colors: saffron, white, and green. It is a rectangle. The flag in its current form was chosen by the Constituent Assembly of India on July 22, 1947. Which was 24 days before Independence Day.


The tricolor rectangle flag is saffron, white, and green. Top, middle, and bottom are saffron, white, and green. Ashok Chakra is depicted in navy blue in the white stripe. Hollow, round wheel with 24 spokes. Navy blue is #000080, India saffron is #FF9933, and white is #FFFFFF.

These are the flag’s RGB values. Length-to-width ratio should be 2:3. Length should be 1.5 times breadth. The flag should be made of Khadi, hand-woven cotton or silk, according meets Bureau of Indian Standards specifications (BIS). Karnataka Khadi Gramodyoga Samyukta Sangha makes the Indian flag. Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission hired them in 2009.


The flag’s colors and motifs have philosophical implications. Each color represents an important component of Indian culture. Saffron symbolizes sacrifice and giving up things, white peace, and green courage and immortality. Ashok Chakra represents Dharma Chakra. It has 24 spokes. It represents justice, fairness, and progress. The wheel symbolizes perpetual mobility, which gives growth and changes things.

The three colors symbolize India’s secular values. Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism use saffron. White symbolizes Christianity and green Islam. The flag depicts how all religious ideals come together. But the Ashok Chakra in the middle shows tolerance and doing what’s right.

Vice President of India and philosopher Dr. Sarvapalli Radha Krishnan explained the Indian flag: “Saffron, or Bhagwa, denotes renunciation or disinterest. Our leaders should put their work before money. Light in the midst guides us to truth. Green indicates our relationship to the soil and plants, which support all life. The “Ashoka Chakra” is the wheel of dharma in the white. Truth, satya, dharma, or virtue should lead those who operate under this flag. The wheel symbolises motion. Change kills. Life is movement. India should embrace change. It should advance. The wheel signifies active peaceful change.

Evolution of the Indian Flag

Before 1857, India’s princely states’ flags represented it. After the Sepoy Mutiny, the British established imperial power and introduced a flag. The blue flag had a Union Jack and a star. 7 August 1906, Parsee Bagan, Calcutta, raised the first unofficial Indian flag. Green, yellow, and red stripes covered the rectangle flag. Top green ring featured 8 lotuses representing 8 provinces, middle yellow band. Said Bande Mataram in Sanskrit, and bottom red band had crescent and sun.

Madame Cama’s exiled revolutionaries flew a modified banner in 1907. Top strip had 7 lotuses instead of 8 and saffron was introduced.

The next decade saw many flag designs, but none caught on. Gandhi proposed a rotating tricolor flag in 1921. The flag’s colors reflected and promoted the subcontinent’s major religions. As demand soared, he secularized the colors. White symbolizes serenity, green hope, and red sacrifice.

The flag’s ancestor was created in 1923. It has saffron, white, and green stripes with a white spinning wheel. Nagpur raised it on April 13, 1923 to memorialist Jallianwala Bagh. The Swaraj Flag symbolized India’s desire for independence.

1931: India adopts its tricolor flag. The Swaraj Flag replaced the spinning wheel with the Ashok Chakra on July 22, 1947.

Significance of the National Flag

India was built on the idea of secularism, which is shown by the country’s flag. The rich spiritual and philosophical history of India is shown by how simple and square the tricolor is. The flag is based on the Swaraj Flag, which was used by the Indian National Congress. During Gandhi’s time as leader of the Indian Freedom Struggle movement.