BJP Top Body: BS Yediyurappa In, Nitin Gadkari Out, No Yogi Adityanath

BJP Top Body
BJP Top Body

BJP Top Body: Union Minister Nitin Gadkari and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Chouhan were today dropped from the BJP’s highest decision-making body after the recent setbacks in which Devendra Fadnavis and BS Yediyurappa scored.

No Yogi Adityanath in BJP Top Body

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who led the BJP to an unprecedented second term in the state, is an outright boycott after discussions that he would be rewarded with a seat at the decision-making table.

The party’s reconstituted parliamentary board, which has four new faces, signals a generational and political shift in the highest levels of the BJP in the Narendra Modi-Amit Shah era.

The Parliamentary Board is the apex body in the BJP and takes decisions on chief ministers, state heads and other important roles.

Nitin Gadkari’s omission from the important committee is being considered as the biggest setback in this reform. Mr Gadkari, a senior minister in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s government, is a former BJP chief and the party has traditionally placed its former presidents in the decision-making process. Due to his deep association with the party’s ideological mentor, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), Mr Gadkari persisted in spite of the pot-shots he often targeted his government.

BS Yediyurappa new entry in BJP Top Body

Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, who is also a former BJP chief, has re-entered the parliamentary board.

Devendra Fadnavis has been included in the election committee – a big boost after Shiv Sena rebel Eknath Shinde was forced to demote him to the post of deputy chief minister when the BJP came to power in Maharashtra.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has also been dropped from the Parliamentary Board, which is a big blow to the man who has been Chief Minister for 20 years.

Mr Yediyurappa was forced to resign as chief minister last year due to infighting and allegations of corruption. At 77, he is well ahead of the party’s unwritten age limit of 75. Sources say influential Lingayat politicians have been unhappy for some time and the party wants to pacify them to ensure their cooperation in the Karnataka elections next year. Lingayats are a politically powerful faction with 18 per cent votes in Karnataka.

Former Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, who earlier this year agreed to make way for Himanta Biswa Sarma after the BJP was re-elected in the state, has been nominated to the parliamentary board as well as the central election committee. Is.

The only constants in this reshuffle are PM Modi, Amit Shah, BJP chief JP Nadda and the party’s BL Santosh.