Asia Cup of Cricket

The Asia Cup was started in 1983 by the Asian Cricket Council, which was made to improve relations between Asian countries. This council had its offices in UAE, which is why the first Asia Cup was played in Sharjah, UAE.

Here are the History of Asia Cup 0f Cricket

1984: Teams from India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan took part. India beat both Sri Lanka and Pakistan to win the first Asia Cup. It was a tournament with three rounds.

Asia cup 2022 cricket match list

1986: India didn’t go to this tournament in Sri Lanka because relations with that country were getting worse. So, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Pakistan all played. The tournament was won by Sri Lanka, which beat Pakistan in the final.

1988: It was held in Bangladesh, and more than 3 teams took part for the first time. In the final, India beat Sri Lanka.

Asia cup cricket tournament

1990: This year’s Asia Cup was held in India, but Pakistan didn’t go because relations with India were bad at the time. India won the final match against Sri Lanka and kept the cup.

1993: India and Pakistan do not get along well politically, so the tournament had to be cancelled.

1995: India won the Asia Cup in Sharjah, UAE, by beating Sri Lanka for the third time.

1997: It was held in Sri Lanka, and the final was won by the home nation, which defeated India.

Asia cup cricket winners

2000: This one took place in Bangladesh, and Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in the final to win its first-ever title.

2004: UAE and Hong Kong took part in the competition for the first time in Sri Lanka. Teams were split into groups for the first time. Sri Lanka beat India in the final to win their third title.

2008: It was held in Pakistan, and in the finals, Sri Lanka beat India very easily to win its fourth title.

2010: This edition, which was held in Sri Lanka, was only attended by Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka. India beat Sri Lanka in the final and won the title for the fifth time.

2012: Pakistan beat Bangladesh in the last over of the final to win the tournament for only the second time.

2014: Afghanistan took part in the Asia Cup for the first time. Sri Lanka beat Pakistan to take the title for the fifth time.

2016: For the first time since the tournament began, it was played in a T20I format. For the sixth time, India beat Bangladesh to win the tournament.

What is Strike Rate?

Asia Cup Schedule, Date, Teams, Host, Timings and Venues