Asia Cup 2022: Sri Lanka Announce Squad, Dasun Shanaka to Lead

Asia Cup 2022 format
Asia Cup 2022 format

Sri Lanka Announce Squad: On Saturday, the five-time defending champions Sri Lanka unveiled an 18-man squad for the Asia Cup, including the young uncapped left-arm seamer Dilshan Madushanka.

Click to know: Asia Cup Schedule, Date, Teams, Host, Timings and Venues

The regular captain, Dasun Shanaka, is in charge of the team

Dilshan Madushanka, is a young left-arm bowler who has never played for Sri Lanka before. Got his first call-up on Saturday when the five-time champions announced an 18-person team for the Asia Cup. Which starts next week in Dubai. The regular captain, Dasun Shanaka, is in charge of the team.

Sri Lanka Announce Squad for Asia Cup 2022

This also includes Ashen Bandara, who last played for Sri Lanka in a T20I against India in July 2021. Ashen Bandara is 21 years old. Charith Asalanka will be the team’s vice-captain. On August 27, at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. The team will play Afghanistan in the first game of the Asia Cup.

Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Jeffrey Vandersay, all sat out Sri Lanka’s most recent Twenty20. The international series against Australia at home in June, are all in the running to make the team again. The final score of the series was 2-1 in favor of the away team.

Asitha Fernando and Pramod Madushan should take the places of the two players

Binura Fernando and Kasun Rajitha were both original members of the team; however, they have decided against going on tour due to injuries sustained. While playing in the SLC Invitational T20 League 2022.

It has been suggested that Asitha Fernando and Pramod Madushan should take the place of the two players who suffered injuries. India, which has won the Asia Cup seven times, Pakistan.Which has won it twice, and Bangladesh, which has been in the finals three times, will also be there.

Sri Lanka squad:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwanidu Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal.

India Squad For Asia Cup 2022 Announced; KL Rahul Returns As The Vice-Captain

Asia Cup 2022: 3 records that might get broken in tournament


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here