A Gandhis-Proxy Or Shashi Tharoor? Congress Votes Now

Congress Votes Now
Congress Votes Now

Congress Votes Now: In the party’s internal elections today, Mallikarjun Kharge and Shashi Tharoor will compete to become the party’s first non-Gandhi leader in over 20 years. Although none of the Gandhis are running, Mr Kharge is seen as the ‘approved’ candidate.

No matter what the results are, Shashi Tharoor and Mallikarjun Kharge are looking forward to working together.

It is my belief that the Congress party is on the verge of revival,” Tharoor said, adding that he is looking forward to working with “friend and senior” Mr Kharge.

Both candidates have reiterated that the Gandhis are not involved. Tharoor, however, pointed out “differences in treatment”, “bias” and an “uneven playing field”. Upon being asked about it, Mr Kharge declined to comment, saying he was just a “simple party worker.”

Congress Votes Now for New Non-Gandhi President

Despite the odds being stacked against us, as the party leaders and establishment were heavily in favor of the other candidate, I am confident the fate of the Congress party rests in the hands of party workers. “I spoke to Mr Kharge today and said whatever happened, we will remain friends and colleagues.”

Shashi Tharoor wished Mr Kharge good luck, and he reciprocated. To build the party, we must work together.

As Shashi Tharoor had said earlier, when he visited the states for campaigning, the state chiefs were “not available”. There are many places, however, where state Congress chiefs and legislators “welcome Mallikarjun Kharge and sit with him… I am not complaining, but do you not see a difference in treatment?” Mr Tharoor had asked reporters.

Kharge says he believes in “collective decision-making” and will follow Gandhi’s guidance. It is not shameful to seek their advice and support, since they have done good for this country. Their advice will benefit the party… so I will definitely seek their advice and support.

Despite nudges from Central leaders, Mr Kharge filed his nomination at the eleventh hour after Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot dropped out. 

Gehlot announced his candidacy one day before the nomination period ended. After meeting with Sonia Gandhi, he made the decision to prevent his arch-rival Sachin Pilot from succeeding him. At one point, he declared he could hold “three posts” in the party, the state post and the top job. After Rahul Gandhi announced that the party would follow the “One man, one post” rule, he had to drop the idea.

In 2019, the Congress lost its second straight election after Mr Gandhi stepped down from the top position. Despite unrelenting pressure from party leaders, the 52-year-old has firmly refused to return as president.

Click to Know: Setback For Team Thackeray In Supreme Court In ‘Real Shiv Sena’ Case

Click to Know: Top 10 Upcoming Indian Cricket Superstars

Click to Know: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money

Click to Know: Pro Kabaddi League Season 9: Patna Pirates Squad 2022                            

Click to Know: Ashok Gehlot Ruled Out As Congress President After Revolt

Click to Know: Ambani Book Ambani Book Betting Ambani Book Betting Exchange

Click to Know: T20 World Cup Next | T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule

Click to Know: Satta Matka: What is Satta Matka?

Click to Know: Eoin Morgan’s 5 Records for England

Click to Know: Online betting sites in India

Click to Know: The 6IXTY 2022: Full Squads, Schedule, Match Timings and Live Streaming Details

Click to Know: Shaheen Afridi Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Wife, Age, Biography

Click to Know: Babar Azam Cricket Career: Babar Achieves Another High, Now Only Player To Be In Top-Three Across Formats

Click to Know: Chandigarh Viral Video of 60 girl students of Chandigarh University taking a bath: Showing the photo of the boy, Accused Girl said – it had put pressure on me

Click to Know: Top 10 Greatest Female Batsmen of All Time 

Click to Know more: Mohammad Rizwan Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Biography, Wife, Age, Height, House, Cars 

Click to Know More: Road Safety World Series 2022: Schedule, squads, venue and format details

Click to Know: “Ben Stokes Is Ahead of Hardik”: Says Ex-Pakistan Captain, Lists Out Reasons