3 Days After Voting Through Postal Ballot, India’s 1st Voter Dies at 106; Himachal to Give Full State Honour

Shyam Saran Negi
Shyam Saran Negi

106-year-old Shyam Saran Negi, independent India’s first voter, died on Saturday morning in Kalpa in Himachal Pradesh’s Kinnaur district. Negi voted for the 34th time through a postal ballot at his Kalpa residence on Wednesday, exercising his right to franchise for the last time.

Kinnaur district commissioner Hussain Sadiq confirmed Negi’s death, saying he will be cremated with full state honours.

Jairam Thakur, the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh, expressed his sorrow at the passing of 106-year-old Negi. In a tweet, the Chief Minister expressed sadness over the death of Shyam Saran Negi Ji, the first voter of independent India.

CP Negi, Negi’s son, said his father had been unwell for a long time and passed away around 3 am today.

As a teacher by profession, Negi was known as Master Shyam Saran. The centenarian believes in democracy and never fails to vote in any election, be it Lok Sabha, Assembly or panchayat.

Since 1951, Negi has voted in every election without missing a chance since he voted for the first time in 1951. On Wednesday, he voted through a postal ballot for the first time.

To get their representatives at the helm, the centenarian asked the young voters to participate actively in the democratic process. “Young voters should consider their duty to vote and contribute to the nation’s strength. As a nation, we should be proud of our right to vote as it helps us elect the right representatives,” Negi said after casting his vote.

“I have never missed an opportunity to vote since India got its independence in 1947, and I am looking forward to voting this time too,” he said in Kalpa, about 275 kilometers from the state capital. It was noticed that he was wearing ink on the finger that he flashed after casting his vote in the Mandi parliamentary by-election last year as well.

In 2014, he was named an election icon of Himachal Pradesh for exercising his franchise in Chini, which was later renamed Kinnaur.

Click to Know More: Fastest 1000 Runs in T20

Click to Read Know: Top 10 Upcoming Indian Cricket Superstars

Click Here to Know: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Prize Money

Click Here: T20 World Cup Next | T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule  

Click to Read: The 6IXTY 2022: Full Squads, Schedule, Match Timings and Live Streaming Details

Click for Related Article: PKL Season 9: Pro Kabaddi League Season 9 Schedule | Full Fixtures | Venue | Timings                           

Click Here for Related Article: Ambani Book Ambani Book Betting Ambani Book Betting Exchange

Click here now: Satta Matka: What is Satta Matka?

Click to Know Online Betting: Online betting sites in India

Click to Know Shaheen Net Worth: Shaheen Afridi Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Wife, Age, Biography

Click to Know Babar Net Worth: Babar Azam Cricket Career: Babar Achieves Another High, Now Only Player To Be In Top-Three Across Formats

Click to Know Female Cricketers: Top 10 Greatest Female Batsmen of All Time 

Click to Know Rizwan Net Worth: Mohammad Rizwan Net Worth 2022, Salary, Income, Biography, Wife, Age, Height, House, Cars 

Click to Know 3 Card Judgement: 3 Card Judgement Casino Online Live Betting And How To Play (Rules)